ISSF Springboard Fellowships 2018/2019

Replacing the ISSF Faculty Fellowships, the ISSF Springboard Fellowships provide funding help with the career progression and retention of outstanding early career researchers. Funding in partnership with Departments, these awards are intended as short-term fellowships to enable these researchers to acquire preliminary data and develop the independence required to be competitive for future external fellowship applications.  

These fellowships are open to researchers across ALL Faculties in College, to undertake research within the science remit of the Wellcome Trust. Researchers from disciplines outside of biomedicine can apply for funding, provided the project is within this remit. 

Multidisciplinary applications are strongly encouraged.

For further information and eligibility, please read the ISSF Springboard Fellowship Guidelines 2018/19 (Imperial login required).  
The Application Deadline is: Thursday 18th October 2018 (12.00 noon)

Departments are expected to make a 50% contribution to the award. All applications must be discussed with the relevant Departmental Manager prior to submission.
The deadline for departmental signoff is 28 September 2018

ISSF Springboard Fellowships 2018/2019

How to Apply

Applications must comprise of the following:

  1. A completed ISSF Springboard Fellowships Application Form (October 2018 call).
  2. Letter of support from the host/supervisor
  3. Letter of support from the Head of Department/Division.
  4. Applicants must send costings information (completed on InfoEd) to Martin Waller (m.waller@imperial.ac.uk) in the Joint Research Office.
    1. InfoEds should not have been formally submitted prior to submitting an application, but must have been agreed in outline by the appropriate department(s)
    2. An e-mail signifying approval will suffice and must be attached to the InfoEd application.
    3. A confirmation email from Martin Waller and a copy of your InfoEd recovery page must be included in your application. ‘Recovery’ on InfoEd must have the 50% charge and ‘Institution Contribution’ the other 50%.  All costs can be inflated.

 Please note: you are required to contact your department to seek departmental approval before 28 September 2018.

How to Submit

  • Convert items 1-4 to PDF and combine into a single document in that order.
    > Name the file appropriately: Your_Name_ISSFSpringboardFellowship_Application_October_2018

Application Deadlines

Application Deadlines
Departmental DeadlineApplication Deadline Decision Expected 
  28 September  2018   18 October 2018 (12.00 noon)  20 November 2018
 27 March 2019  17 April 2019 (12 noon)  23 May 2019
You are required to contact your department to seek departmental approval before 28 September 2018
Interested applicants should discuss their application with their departmental contact before Friday 28th September 2018

Departmental Contacts

Faculty of Engineering

Head of Research Strategy Development: Jane Williams jane.williams@imperial.ac.uk

Finance: Amrik Thethi  a.thethi@imperial.ac.uk

Faculty of Medicine

Department of Medicine: Chrystalla Orphanides (c.orphanides@imperial.ac.uk)

National Heart and Lung Institute: Alun Owen (a.owen@imperial.ac.uk)

Department of Surgery and Cancer:

Surgery: Tony Tarragona (t.tarragona@imperial.ac.uk)

Cancer/Reproductive and Developmental Biology:  Shirley Line (s.line@imperial.ac.uk)

Integrative Systems Medicine and Digestive Disease: Tammy Barrett (t.barrett@imperial.ac.uk)

Institute of Clinical Sciences:  Peter Norsworthy (p.norsworthy@imperial.ac.uk)

School of Public Health: Lyndsey Pallant (l.pallant@imperial.ac.uk)

Faculty of Natural Sciences

Maths: Svanidze, Rusudan r.svanidze@imperial.ac.uk

Physics : Hayward, Louise l.hayward@imperial.ac.uk

CEP: Lyle, Karen R k.lyle@imperial.ac.uk

Grantham: Rosivatz, Erika e.rosivatz@imperial.ac.uk  cc Read, Laila A l.read@imperial.ac.uk

Chemistry: Kelly, Patrick E patrick.kelly@imperial.ac.uk (maternity cover)

Life Sciences: Bowman, Richard r.bowman@imperial.ac.uk

Imperial College Business School

Head of Research Support: Dr David Wilson david.wilson@imperial.ac.uk

Research Support Manager: Ross Clark ross.clark@imperial.ac.uk

ISSF Springboard Fellowships 2018/2019 Documents

For further information and eligibility, please read the ISSF Springboard Fellowship Guidelines 2018/19. (Imperial login required)  

Please complete the ISSF Springboard Fellowships Application Form (October 2018 call) and submit to issf@imperial.ac.uk before 12.00noon on Thursday 18th October 2018. (Imperial login required)